Yes, feel free to start the taunts now.  I simply can’t stay satisfied with a cell phone for more than a few months.  June saw my switch from Verizon to T-Mobile, and along for the ride was the purchase of a new HTC One.  The HTC One is a good phone.  It’s solid, well-built, and has a strong (if non-removable) battery.  The screen looks good.  The camera is fun to play with, along with features like Zoe recording.  I really could have kept the phone longer, but…

Having already moved my line and my wife’s line over to T-Mobile, we were now paying a lot of money to just keep my son’s phone on Verizon.  T-Mobile is (was?) running a promotion to pick up the new Samsung Galaxy Note 3 for no money down (aside from taxes) and $29/mo.  Since I had to move the child over anyhow, I decided I would try out the latest and greatest from Samsung.  In the first week, I have not been disappointed.

The Galaxy Note 3 runs on a new Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 quad-core processor clocked at 2.3GHz.  In plain English, it’s damn fast.  The HTC One was fast with a slower 600…this thing cooks.  It features a 5.7 inch 1920×1080 Full HD screen with a nice, high 400+ PPI.  The Super AMOLED screen is nice and bright, even set at about 30 percent brightness to conserve battery.  Speaking of the battery, it’s big–and user replaceable.  3200mAH is enough juice to get me through more than a full day of my above average use.  The phone/phablet also has a microSDXC slot capable of supporting up to a 64gb memory card on top of the built-in 32gb of storage space.  It’s also one of the first phones to ship with Android 4.3…at least until Google unveils Android 4.4 KitKat later this month.

I’m still playing with the phone and getting used to features.  One of the first observations I had was that it really doesn’t seem that big in my hand.  The bezel has been cut down such that the 5.7″ screen actually fits in a phone slightly smaller and lighter than the previous generation Note 2.  I’m actually able to use one hand to hold and swipe (technically gesture typing, as I’m using the native Samsung keyboard, not Swype).

I’ll do a full review after I have another week or two to play with the phone.  So far though, it’s a thumbs-up.

Now, my attempt at a companion device…umm…see the next post.

David

