Okay, so I’m not the most patient person on the planet.  It’s very hard for me to sit back and casually wait a month to get my new laptop.  As of this afternoon, Lenovo still had my Yoga 2 Pro order showing a likely shipping date of November 14th, expected delivery of November 21st.

On Monday, after discussing the household tablet situation with my wife, and feeling the need for some new technology to placate me until the end of November’s arrival of the Yoga 2 Pro, I gave my “old” Nexus 7 to my wife, she gave our daughter the Samsung Tab 2 7.0, and I found a nice open box deal on a new Nexus 7 2013 edition (2nd generation, FHD…however you’d like to label it).

I was very impressed with the original Nexus 7.  It stood up well to my daily use/abuse.  Still quick, nice display, easily rooted (so I could finagle a way to get the BBC iPlayer to work with UK content).  I did notice, however, that as time went on, something seemed to be slowing down the tablet–despite running the latest version of Android 4.3 Jelly Bean.

So far the new Nexus 7 is wonderful.  The rear camera is a nice addition, and may well come in handy on that next hockey trip (Wayzata, MN in two weeks) to UStream games home to family and friends, but it’s not going to get a lot of use.  The unit is nice and fast, courtesy of the newer Snapdragon S4 Pro chip inside.  No hiccups.  No delays.  I use my tablet mainly for taking notes at work and playing music when I announce ASU Hockey games.  Video is beautiful and smooth on the 1920×1200 IPS Full HD screen.

Even the exterior design is a step up–thin (so much so that a coworker saw me holding it and asked if it was a new iPad Mini…yeah–like I’d own one of those…) but still with a nice soft-touch back that’s comfortable to hold, and light in the palm while still feeling solidly constructed.

Haven’t really run the battery through it’s paces yet, but I can say that it has lasted me a full day at work for notes and some light email, Facebook and Twitter checking, and a little video playback.  A nice test will be next Friday night when I announce an ASU Hockey doubleheader (vs. Williston State at 7:30pm and BYU at 10pm, for those interested in a couple great hockey games).  Playing music doesn’t kill a ton of battery, but for the most part I keep the display on during the whole game…

I’m also really looking forward to picking up a Slimport adapter before I head to Wayzata. so I can use the tablet to play Netflix, Hulu Plus, Flixter, and sideloaded video content on the hotel TV.  As nice as a microSD slot would have been, the ability to hook up to an HDMI-equipped TV is a great step forward.

In the end, everyone’s happy.  I have a new tech toy to play with while I wait for the Yoga 2 Pro, my daughter can finally replace my old Acer Iconia Tab A500 (which has lived a nice long productive life), and my wife has a little more speed and a more standard charging port with the original Nexus 7.

David

