I feel a certain responsibility now to make sure I’m actively posting interesting things to my blog on a regular basis.  Thing is, the past week has been extremely hectic. Let me tell you about it…

Sometimes it seems as though I live at the rink. My son has four touches a week–Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday nights as well as Saturday morning. Add in games not scheduled during those slots. Add in when my responsibilities as team manager. Add in my duties for the Southwest Independent Hockey Cooperative that exist outside the rink (I’m the co-director of the league). Add in my duties as the public address announcer for ASU’s three hockey teams.  Oh, and don’t forget my day job and my wife and kids in general…

As friends have sometimes wondered, where does all the time come from?  Not sure I can really answer that one. Perhaps it’s that I feel most fulfilled when I’m doing something to help others, so in my quest for my own brand of self-actualization, I always have to be doing something to that end. The truth is, I’m not even sure.

I have plenty of new tech thoughts to share, and I’ll try to do that in a few new posts sometime later today…

Since this post is a rambling personal one, I’ll mention how proud I am off my son’s last three games in net.  On Thursday night, he started in net for his usual team, the 2000 AA Jr Coyotes, and picked up the shutout, 7-0 over the Arizona Hockey Union (AHU) Bantam Purple team. He faced and stopped 19 shots in the effort, including some really impressive breakaway stops late.

At 7:30 Sunday morning, as we were getting ready to head to the rink for his league game against the DYHA Firebirds, a game he was not slated to see action in, I got a text and a phone call from the 99 AA coach asking to borrow my son for his league game that morning. Our coach agreed to lend my son to the 99AA team as an emergency call-up. Unfortunately, as I was scheduled as the scorekeeper for our regular team’s game and one before it, both at another rink across town, I was unable to be there as my son helped the 99s to a 6-0 victory over the Las Vegas Jr Wranglers Bantam AA team. While not quite as busy, facing only nine shots officially, he still received compliments from the coaches for some very timely highlight reel stops.

Last night, our team faced off against the 99s. The game was a struggle against a much better 99 team, resulting in a 4-1 loss, getting outshot 35-7, but the way the team came together and frustrated the normally potent 99 offense, staying in the game most of the night, was very impressive and showed a lot of positive development heading into our weekend tournament in Wayzata, Minnesota. My son? He put a nice cap on the extended weekend, playing the second half of the game allowing only one goal on 17 shots.  His totals for the extended weekend: 3 GP, 2-0, 0.67 GAA, .978 save pct (45 shots faced, 44 saves).

Next up for my son and hours Jr Coyotes teammates: the Ames (Iowa) Flyers in Wayzata, MN on Friday night.

Tech thoughts coming soon…

David

