So, having waited three weeks for my new Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro, you’d think I would have savagely torn into the box the moment I got it home…but no. I purposely delayed gratification until I got back from my son’s hockey practice last night.

My original idea was to get video of the unboxing to post here on the blog…but after eating dinner, gathering files for the weekend trip to Minnesota, and other various hubbub, I realized it was almost 10pm, and I needed to get up early this morning too head to the airport. So, unfortunately, I didn’t see a good opportunity to record the unboxing before just opening everything up.

Unboxing wasn’t difficult.  Lenovo shipped the unit in retail-ready shrink-wrapped packaging (see the last blog entry for pictures), securely placed in a shipping box that had firm foam inserts to cradle two Yoga 2 Pros (do people generally order these by the pair?). The box was very sturdy and held the laptop box well.
image

After using a pen that was lying around to cut the shipping tape and removing the top foam insert, I was able to remove the actual laptop box and take the aforementioned pictures. Fast-forward to 10pm last night, when I used the pen again to cut through the shrink wrap. I removed the box’s lid to find foam padding on the underside of the lid (glued on) and a strong woven packing material sleeve containing my Clementine Orange Yoga 2 Pro.
image

image

Back to the laptop in a minute. Underneath the laptop were three cardboard compartments.
image

The one on the left strangely contained nothing. The center one is actually a small box with the Quick Start guide, concealing a small compartment below that contained the main AC adapter (now removed and in my laptop bag).
image

The compartment on the right held the small power cord that goes from the AC adapter to the wall.
image

The laptop  looks pretty much like you’d expect, in a nice soft-touch finished orange.
image

On the right hand side, from left to right, the power button, a reset button of some sort (have to investigate this one further), a rotation lock button (works in tablet mode only), volume rocker, headphone/microphone combo jack, and USB 2.0 port labeled as being able to charge devices when the laptop is off.
image

The back is just made up of the sturdy metal hinges and ventilation ducts.
image

The left side, left to right (back to front), has your AC adapter jack, USB 3.0 port, micro HDMI port, and an SD card slot.
image

The front, as expected, is just..the front.
image

Opening up the laptop, it’s nice to see that piece of packing material protecting the screen (am I the only one who saves this and uses it to continue protecting the screen?).
image

And the keyboard…
image

Tent mode…
image

Tablet mode…
image

Time to head to the airport.  I’ll post my impressions on first boot-up after I land.

David

