This is going to sound weird: I wish I would just get the flu already, clear it out of my system and move on with my life.  Over the past week, I’ve spent an inordinate amount of time with clogged sinuses and feeling generally lousy.  No fever, no temperature, no time spent bowed at the porcelain throne.  Just an icky, achy and congested existence.  Last night was a blur…but couldn’t get to sleep until almost 2am.  Up at 6:45 this morning…

My typical morning routine, as my body works on getting up enough to get out of bed, is to check my Facebook (GoalieDad37) and Twitter (@GoalieDad37) feeds to see what interesting things may have transpired while I slept.  It took me five minutes on Twitter before I found this link: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/hamilton-pays-tribute-rent-musicals-889028.  Apparently, we’re at the 20th anniversary of the Broadway musical Rent.  To honor the show, the cast of Hamilton did a little tribute by singing Seasons of Love.  I hit the link, watched, and bawled.

See, Micah’s two favorite musicals (yes, at 15 my son had favorite Broadway musicals) were Rent and Hamilton.  Our rabbi surprised us at the funeral by reading the first verse of Seasons of Love as part of his eulogy–the same verse performed by the cast of Hamilton in the linked tribute.  It was like Lin-Manuel Miranda and his cast were giving a tribute to not just Rent, but to Micah as well.  I got choked up  It was so touching, such an emotional trigger.  I wept.

525,600 minutes.
525,600 moments so dear.
525,600 minutes.
How do you measure — measure a year?

In daylights, in sunsets,
In midnights, in cups of coffee,
In inches, in miles,
In laughter and strife.

525,600 minutes.
How do you measure a year in the life?

Seasons of LoveRENT.

Thank you Lin, Javier Munoz for posting, and the rest of the cast for unknowingly making my day–and Micah’s too, where ever he may be watching from.

David

