It’s almost bedtime here in technobabble land.  As I prepared for bed this evening, I found myself singing quietly, just to myself…

Gray skies are gonna clear up.
Put on a happy face.
Brush off those clouds and cheer up.
Put on a happy face.
Take off that gloomy mask of tragedy,
It’s not your style.
You’ll look so good
That you’ll be glad you decided to smile.

Way back in my past, I had the pleasure of not once, but twice performing in productions of the musical, Bye Bye Birdie.  This song is performed in the musical by Albert Peterson, the male lead, as he tries to convince an unhappy looking teenager that Conrad Birdie (loosely based on Elvis) going into the Army won’t destroy her life.  Truth be told, I never played Albert in the show–I played Harry MacAfee both times, father of the girl that has been chosen to receive Birdie’s last kiss, televised on the Ed Sullivan Show, before he goes off to basic training.  My musical numbers were “Hymn for a Sunday Evening” and “Kids.”  Anyhow, as whimsical as the Put On A Happy Face scene and song are, they’ve always been a favorite of mine.  Even that being the case, I rarely find myself singing it’s lyrics to myself…

It was an okay day today.  One or two moments where I found myself getting a little choked up–explaining to a coworker the strange coincidence about the address of our new house, a couple random moments in the afternoon as I responded to a hockey email or two, but compared to other recent days, not too sorrowful.

Maybe I just needed a little pick-me-up.  Perhaps my desire to again act and perform was finding just this moment to break through.  I’m not sure what caused it, but still, as I head to sleep, I’m thinking about the music from a musical that I have not performed in 30 years…

An English teacher,
An English teacher,
If only you’d been an English teacher.
We’d have a little apartment in Queens.
You’d get a summer vacation,
And we would know what life means.

A man who’s got his Masters
Is really someone.
How proud I’d been
If you had become one…

Funny thing is, for a while there–I was an English teacher… 🙂

David

