Okay, take your minds out of the gutter.  I think I’d have to start a new, restricted 18+ blog if I wanted to start tackling such adult themes… 🙂  Seriously though…

I spent this past weekend surrounded by a sea of humanity at Phoenix Comicon.  Sure, I had a good time listening to a few of my favorite actors talk about life on the set, upcoming projects, their own personal passions, and so on.  I enjoyed taking pictures of the celebrities on stage to share with all of you.  Even walking the exhibit hall, looking at the various wares being peddled there was enjoyable–even if many of the things I found ultimately cool enough to want to purchase were more expensive than I cared to invest.  However, the most interesting part of any Comicon or convention experience is people-watching.

I saw joy and happiness–friends talking together with wide smiles and laughter sprinkling every sentence.  Couples–male/female, male/male, female/female, groups of friends, families and extended families, enjoying each other’s time and presence.  With so much going on around the convention center, so many panels and contests and photo and autograph opportunities, people still found time to sit together in the hallways and just talk.  People sat with their friends and compared costumes.  Some sat and observed other people’s costumes, occasionally asking if they could take a picture with a really slick looking Deadpool, or a beautifully costumed and made up anime character.  Some could be heard doing their own little play-by-play of the people walking past them–mainly G and PG-rated, but occasionally with the right group of guys or girls, the conversation turned a little blue, a little inappropriate for family consumption.  There were certainly enough scantily-clad Harley Quinns walking around complete with fishnet stockings, high heels, tight corsetted tops and legless bottoms (not sure what to call those).

Even the Harley Quinns came in all shapes and sizes–from the waifishly thin to the plus-plus-plus-sized.  It was amazing to see how comfortable so many people were in their own skins.  I know, it’s a strange comment to make when talking about thousands of people wearing costumes, pretending to be someone else, but it’s so true.  It takes a certain degree of comfort with yourself to dress up like someone else for an event outside a Halloween party.  Bravo to the larger women that wanted to dress as Harley Quinn.  Fantastic to see Doctors (as in Doctor Who) in all shapes, sizes, genders and colors, and creative costumes that just screamed, “I am original.  I am unique.  Love me for who I am!”

It was only in the waning hours of my time at Comicon that I started to think about what I was not seeing.  The more I heard people talking about “Sword Art Online,” the more I saw Master Chief costumes from Halo, and young (and old) men and women wearing tweed jackets, white shirts, colorful bow ties and fezzes, the more I realized that Micah was not one of them.

Sure, when my daughter asked me yesterday if I thought Micah would have liked Comicon this year, I told her, “Nah.  You know Micah.  He would have probably wanted to stay home and play video games instead,” but I know that isn’t true.  In fact, Micah had been planning his own Comicon adventure months before he passed away.  He had asked Cynthia about us just dropping him and a couple of his friends off at Comicon in the morning and picking them up at the end of the day.  He had talked about costumes he might want to wear, from those same Sword Art Online outfits to playing Matt Smith’s Eleventh Doctor, to just walking around as himself and taking it all in with his friends.  He never got the chance to do that.  As much as he loved his video games, he wanted to be  a part of the Comicon experience–even to the point of telling me once that if there was a roller hockey tournament the weekend of Comicon, he’d rather skip the tournament and spend the time with his friends at the convention.

These thoughts didn’t really spoil the experience–but put it in perspective.  Micah wanted to be there as much as I did.  He wanted to let his geek flag fly–not just in general, he was never shy of doing that anywhere he went (just look for the pictures of him dressed as Gandalf walking through mall or the airport in Dallas a couple years ago)–no, he wanted to let it fly somewhere where people would see it, understand it, and want to talk and share experiences with him about it.

I miss my son.  I would have loved to hear his thoughts on the people he saw at Comicon this weekend.  Now, I just have to close my eyes and hear what he might have said…

 

David

