Sometimes to do the most relaxing, rewarding activity we can imagine, we generate weekend-altering stress…

Almost two weeks ago, I decided to plan my ultimate one-day getaway: flying to Chicago in order to be present at Wrigley Field as the Chicago Cubs play their first World Series at the Friendly Confines in 71 years.  I had to find inexpensive plane tickets that fit my already busy schedule — I needed to leave early Saturday morning and return Sunday morning in time to prepare for my Roadrunners duties.  The end result fit my schedule perfectly: depart Phoenix at 6am Saturday morning, getting into Chicago at 11:30am, then departing Chicago at 5am Sunday getting back in to Phoenix at 6:40am.

When I say “fit perfectly,” I’m being chronologically literal.  Yes–6am Saturday would allow me to work Friday night’s Roadrunners game, drive home, take a quick nap and get to the airport on time.  And yes, a 6:40am Sunday return would give me time to take a nap, get ready, and drive down to Tucson in time for a 1:30pm pregame meeting.  However…

I woke up at 2:45am (Phoenix time) on Saturday morning, having finally gone to sleep at 12:15am.  2.5 hours of sleep.  As I sit in the terminal waiting to board my flight, it is now 3:45am Chicago time.  I have not slept or significantly napped since Friday night–23 hours ago.  But the whole story isn’t gloom and doom…


There I was, with my brother–the person solely responsible for introducing me to the Cubs and Major League Baseball–at Wrigley Field for Game Four of the 2016 World Series.

The game didn’t go how we would have liked.  The Indians beat–and beat up–the Cubs 7-2, taking a 3-1 series lead heading into possibly decisive Game Five later tonight at Wrigley Field.  But, result aside, it was a magical evening.  Listening as Juliana Zobrist, Cubs left fielder Ben Zobrist’s wife, performed a beautiful rendition of God Bless America, and then John Vincent’s unique performance of the National Anthem–followed by the roar of the crowd, I found myself again in tears.  What a special place, a special time…

Thank you to my brother for generously providing the rooftop tickets for the game.  Thank you to Cynthia and Avi for sparing me for 27 hours to make this dream come true.  Thank you to all of you that have helped support me, especially over the past almost ten months.
I have other thoughts to share, but the lack of sleep is starting to catch up with me.  Watch for another blog entry very soon…

David

