After much debate and contemplation, I have decided to press ahead with my plans to audition for a musical tomorrow morning–my first such audition in 28 years.

Working this story backwards, in the end, I decided that I’ve done plenty of things to embarrass myself over the years, or at least to open myself up to embarrassment and ridicule–what’s another 10 minutes?  How did I get to this point?  Simple.  I’ve been rehearsing three possible audition songs over the past two weeks — in the shower.  See, unlike many performers and musicians, I cannot sight-read music (aside from generally knowing when notes are higher or lower than the ones that preceded them)–I have always learned my parts by ear–listening, rehearsing, rinse and repeat.  I do not know how to play piano/keyboard/organ/other-white-and-black-keyed-instruments.  I put a couple messages out to people asking for help in practicing or rehearsing–and heard crickets.

So, as no one in my home can play piano, no one in my friend circle saw/responded to my call for help in doing so, and at least one of my chosen songs is not on any of the online sheet music websites that will offer to play a basic MIDI version of the music… I was left with one actual method of rehearsing: singing to myself a cappella.  After much shower and bedroom practice, as well as thinking about the nature of the show I’m auditioning for, and the characters I figure to be considered for, I had to let two of the songs go…

My final three were: If I Were a Rich Man from Fiddler on the Roof, Bui Doi from Miss Saigon and The Buddy System from City of Angels.  Three roughly Baritone-range songs that I was already familiar with, had heard performed before, and that I felt comfortable with performing to my very special audience of one: myself.

My favorite was actually Bui Doi.  I really enjoyed Miss Saigon, and this song seemed to be a good demonstration of my range–but I’m auditioning the light-hearted musical Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.  Singing about the abandoned children of American soldiers left in Vietnam after the fall of Saigon is a bit dark and brooding…not exactly Jacob or Potiphar territory.  So, one down…

Probably the song that I’m most comfortable with–and have known the longest–was If I Were A Rich Man.  However, I wanted something a little more challenging, a little more humorous.  Though, even as I write this, I wonder if I need to switch and go with this comfortable song…

I chose Buddy Fiddler’s solo, The Buddy System, from City of Angels.  Up-tempo, solidly Baritone with a hint of Tenor.  Want to hear me rehearse it?  Listen here.  (Just a warning: this is me singing a cappella into a digital audio recorder in my office with a somewhat scratchy throat…)

Where do I go from here?  I suppose that will really depend on how things go at 10am tomorrow morning–for the immediate future anyhow.  Callbacks are next Saturday, and hopefully we’ll go from there.  If not, I don’t plan to give up–but I think my next step might be finding someone to teach me how to sight-read music, so I can be a little better prepared in the future.

In other news…

Youth hockey tryouts are this weekend–but I am not involved.  For the first time in ten years, I will not find myself at one or multiple hockey rinks during tryouts.  Obviously I have no child trying out, but I am also no longer affiliated with any youth hockey organization (other than my family with PWC and the Cactus Cup–but they’re all about the tournaments, no tryouts there), so I have no duties or tasks to perform.  No fittings, no note-taking, no tryout scouting–no reason to set foot into a rink this weekend.  It’s kind of appropriate that my first audition for a musical in 28 years takes place during hockey tryouts.  Transitions continue…

This has not been an easy week.  A couple days inundated with memories of Micah–everywhere I turned, everywhere I looked, something reminded me of my son.  Just knowing that this weekend was going to be travel hockey tryouts all over the Phoenix area–whether I would be there or not–got the memories (and tears) flowing.  Thinking about scorekeeping large blocks of roller hockey State Finals games next weekend didn’t help.  Add in discovering at 3pm this afternoon that the Court of Appeals reached a very disappointing conclusion of an issue in one of my biggest current cases, and the whole week seems like lost hours.

My recent transition has not been an easy one.  Sure–it was easy enough to step aside and essentially retire from all my youth hockey affiliations and duties.  On March 5th, I was still involved with everything–by March 14th, I was involved with nothing (outside the PWC/Cactus Cup).  Band-Aid completely ripped off.  On April 1st, the Roadrunners home season ended.  On April 23rd, my ASU Softball announcing duties came to their seasonal conclusion.  On April 24th, just a few days ago, I looked at my calendar to find–emptiness and peace.  Problem is, I have never learned how to handle those things.  What do you do with an empty calendar?

Part of my answer is just enjoying my two guilty pleasures: baseball and movie-watching.  I haven’t missed many pitches and at-bats of my Chicago Cubs this season, whether listening, watching or simply following on the MLB At Bat app on my phone.  This past week, I have been over to my favorite theatre — Alamo Drafthouse Chandler — twice to see fantastic films.  Monday night was my first chance to see Akira Kurosawa’s classic film, Seven Samurai.  Tuesday night was a little lighter Far Eastern fare, Stephen Chow’s Kung Fu Hustle.  Next week, I already have one movie lined up (Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2), and am considering a second movie for $5 Tuesday.  And, of course, the Cubs play all week–four against the Phillies, three against the Yankees, all at Wrigley Field.

Hopefully the next part of my answer will come from tomorrow’s audition…

Oh, and finally–and I do mean FINALLY, we have the closing date on our new house!  We now know when we’ll get to move into our new home–a home that will always be Micah’s home: 3706…

David

